Niki's Back on Track











{July 22, 2012}   A Hiatus…

Well, there has been a short hiatus in recording any intake of food or (lack of) exercise since the last post.  It has been a rough week or so.

First, we went out of town to visit my husband’s family in Wisconsin.  Visiting always makes it difficult to make healthy food choices or exercise.

I was prepared to get back on track Monday, but our cat Mage was very sick.  He was 16 years old and had been struggling with kidney failure.  The vet recommended we put him to sleep because we could no longer do anything to help him recover.  It was a very hard and emotional day.  This week has been extremely difficult for me because I have had him since he was a kitten.  So, needless to say, I have not been eating well or exercising.

Now, I’m going to try to get back on track AGAIN!

I did check out SparkPeople as was recommended.  I like it, but it will keep me more accountable than I originally expected!  😉  I am posting a screen shot of a day’s calories, fat, carbs, etc. from SparkPeople.  I was EXTREMELY surprised by how many calories it equaled despite the fact that I avoided so many “unhealthy” choices.

 

 

niki1975 says:

I tried to post the screen shot, but it didn’t work. I will try again later!



What a beautiful kitty- you’re right he does look like my Dexter. I’m so sorry for your loss. It feels like losing part of your family.



justineob says:

I’m sorry to hear about your cat. It is difficult putting a pet down.
I’m glad to hear you have found an online resource to keep you on track! I know others who have used similar programs and really like it. Keep it up, girl 🙂



Angie Gulliford says:

I am sorry to hear about your cat. 😦 Between that and THE PAPER, and vacation, who can blame you for getting off track. Tomorrow is another day and another opportunity.



theparalyzer says:

I am sorry for your loss. Pets are part of our families. I hope you are thinking about happy memories.



kristen says:

Niki, I am so sorry to hear about your cat! That is such a sad and tough thing to deal with, and rough timing with everything else you had going on! Hope you and your family are feeling a little better!



niki1975 says:

Thanks everyone! I really appreciate the support. I am doing much better now. There are those ghost moments where I’m expecting him to jump up on the bed or to let me know it is time to eat. With those moments, I’m just learning to smile.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
