Niki's Back on Track











{September 25, 2012}   Brookfield ZooRunRun Goal- CHECK!

I decided to try to run a 5K before the offical 9 week training period was completed.  I really wanted to help conservation and participate in the Brookfield ZooRunRun 5K this year.  I was nervous since I only ran continuously for a little more than 2 miles recently.  This was a big jump in my training, but I wanted to try.

My goals:

  1. Not to be last
  2. Run the whole time
  3. Not vomit

We were up at 5:30 a.m. in order to get ready, drive to Brookfield from Sycamore, park, and pick up my registration packet, get in line, and start the run at 8:30 a.m.  On our way into the zoo, Isabel, my 8 year-old daughter, said, “I want to take a picture with you and your gold medal at the end mama.”  I had to burst her Olympic view bubble of me and remind her this was my first 5K race!  🙂

I met and surpassed my goals!!  I’m so excited and proud of myself!

There were 3,000 registered runners.  There were 233 female runners between the ages of 35-39 (My old lady age group!).  I placed 116th out of these 233 runners.  🙂

I ran the whole 5K in 33:22 minutes which works out to be a 10:38 per mile pace.  I was OVERJOYED!  I wasn’t hurting like I thought I would, and I felt the runner’s high.  We did it!  Katrina inspired me to run again, and I’m so happy she could be my running partner during this race.  We pace each other and keep each other motivated!

Katrina and I finished strong at the ZooRunRun!!

After the run, our families of two supportive hubbies, two 8 year-old girls, a 5 year-old girl, and a 4 year-old girl walked through the zoo and enjoyed the beautiful, sunny day.  It was a tiring experience for us all.

You’d have thought Olivia ran the 5K!

I have another 5K, the Miles That Matter race for the YMCA Livestrong, coming up at 5 p.m. on Saturday, October 6th in DeKalb, IL.  This is right after a long day in class, but I hope to beat my time.  My next goal is under 33 minutes.  Anyone want to join me?  We can run together.  Group runs are motivating!

Wish me luck!

theparalyzer says:

I wish I could join you on Oct. 6. My foot is not healed yet!



megane23 says:

Way to go Niki! I’m so proud of all you are doing. Keep it up. I really enjoyed the last picture. She was so tired from cheering you on! That’s hard work! 🙂



I am so proud of you!! WHOO HOO! I totally admire your determination and perseverance! Keep it up sister!! 🙂



Nice work, sister! I especially enjoyed your goals — sounds like what mine would be, so I fully support you! You rock!



niki1975 says:

Thank you all for the support! I’m super excited, and I love sharing this with you.
@Professor Cawley – I’m running the Turkey Trot in Cortland on November 10th if your foot will be healed by then!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
