Niki's Back on Track











{October 23, 2012}   Miles That Matter 5K – CHECK Number 2!

Couch to 5K program at the YMCA

Program Goal: Go from sitting on the “couch” (or in front of the computer in my case) to running 3.1 miles (5 kilometers).

The Miles That Matter race through the YMCA serves as a fundraiser for the LiveStrong program.  The LiveStrong program at the Kishwaukee YMCA offers FREE services to cancer survivors.  Click Here if you would like more information.

It felt really good to connect faces to the reason behind my run.  My training and ultimately my 5K race directly contributed to increasing my personal health and the health of these survivors!

LiveStrong Members

As many of you know, I spent all day in class on Saturday.  After leaving Judson in Elgin, I drove straight to the DeKalb Y and literally had to run to the start line to make the start at 5 p.m.  It was a cold, blustery day.  I was not particularly motivated, but seeing the above smiles made all the difference in the world!

The Starting Line: I’m straight ahead in the red hat!

My goals for this race:

  • Finish the race.
  • Try to keep an 11 minute/mile pace.
  • Keep my time close to the Brookfield ZooRunRun time of 33:22 minutes total.

I found a fellow Couch to 5K trainee during the race, and we paced each other.  There were a lot more uphill stretches to this course, so I wasn’t sure how I would fair.

I’m proud to say that I finished 45th of 98 runners and 9th out of the 18 in the Female 30 – 39 age group.

I surprised myself by completing the race in 31:20 minutes!!!  I shaved 2 minutes off my time in a matter of 2 weeks.  I was amazed.

My running partner and I are both teachers trying to be good role models for our students!

My Running Buddy, Mary

My family was there at the finish line to congratulate me.  My husband, two daughters, and my sister-in-law .

My hubby, Toby

So, what now?  Well, I still have plenty of stress to relieve by exercising.  Let’s take a look at the list:

  • iPad pilot
  • Lucky Lottery Winner being evaluated this year with the new Teacher Appraisal System
  • Journal Article Revisions
  • Plan for each week at school
  • Clean my house
  • Try to be a mother and wife to my family
  • MLIT homework

Is it time for a 10K?  The Sycamore Pumpkin Run is Sunday.  Hhhhhmmm……

Leave a Reply

et cetera
